TEXAS — If you live in the Austin or San Antonio area, you may have received a text alert Friday about wearing a mask.

What You Need To Know

  • Mandate is for counties with 20 or more COVID-19 cases

  • Went into effect July 3

  • Violators face $250 fine

Some cities activated their public alert systems after Gov. Greg Abbott on Thursday issued an executive order requiring all Texans to wear a face covering over the nose and mouth in public spaces in counties with 20 or more positive COVID-19 cases.

Texans who violate the mandate twice could face a $250 fine.

The alert from Austin-Travis County EOC’s Warn Central Texas and Wireless Emergency Alert system said the following:

The State of Texas now mandates everyone wear masks while inside buildings that are open to the public and outdoors, when it is not possible to maintain six feet of distance from people outside of your household. Punishable by a $250 fine. This Independence Day, we are depending on you to help slow the spread of this deadly virus.


The mandate for face coverings took effect Friday afternoon.