AUSTIN, Texas -- The deadline for Austin mayor has passed and a total of six candidates want your vote.

The candidates to become the next Mayor of Austin have filed and they only have a few months left to win your vote. This is only the second mayoral election since the 10-1 council was created.

Mayor Steve Adler heads into the race as the incumbent. He won in a runoff against then-councilmember Mike Martinez. During his tenure, Mayor Adler has presided over major natural disasters including massive flooding in 2015, the rollout of a $720 million bond package which voters approved back in 2016, and most recently the Austin bomber attacks which had the city on edge for several weeks.

If Adler wins, he'll immediately become a lame duck as he'll be term limited.

Other candidates:

• Political newcomer Travis Duncan threw his hat in the ring early this summer. He's a Dallas native who has made Austin home. He's an artist who is running on a platform of overhauling the mayor's office to become more accountable to the people.
• Former councilmember Laura Morrison’s website highlights her accomplishments in council including introducing over 400 measures from 2008 to 2014.
• Gus Pena is also in the race, he's known at city hall for being a regular during public comment advocating for equity in east Austin.
• South Austin resident Alan Pease filed. 
• Todd Phelps is looking for a rematch against Mayor Adler from 2014. He previously ran for the House of Representatives in district 21 currently occupied by Lamar Smith.

Whoever becomes Austin’s next mayor will have ceremonial duties and they must preside over council but they are not afforded veto powers. In regards to managing day to day operations, that falls on City Manager Spencer Cronk. Mayors can be recalled if enough voters produce a petition.

The election is in November.