AUSTIN, Texas – Tuesday is National Lighthouse Day, and while it may not immediately come to mind, the Lone Star State is home to several lighthouses.

There are seven lighthouses in all scattered across the Texas coast.

• Aransas Pass (Lydia Ann) Lighthouse
• Hamilton Reed Lighthouse: Port Lavaca
• Sabine Bank Lighthouse: Port Arthur
• Bolivar Point Lighthouse: Gavelston
• Matagorda Island Lighthouse: Port Lavaca
• Gavelston Jetty Lighthouse: Gavelston
• Point Tsabel Lighthouse: Port Isabel

--History of National Lighthouse Day--

On Aug. 7, 1789, Congress approved an Act for the establishment and support of lighthouse, beacons, buoys and public piers. Nearly 100 years later, Rhode Island Sen. John H. Chafee sponsored a joint resolution that was introduced to Congress designating Aug. 7 as “National Lighthouse Day.”

The resolution passed the Senate and the House. President Ronald Reagan signed the Bill into public law.

Map of all Texas lighthouse locations: