AUSTIN -- Gov. Greg Abbott issued a proclamation Tuesday ordering an emergency special election to elect a U.S. Representative for Texas Congressional District 27 to serve out the current unexpired term. 

Former Rep. Blake Farenthold (R) resigned from the seat on April 6, 2018.​

The emergency special election will be held on Saturday, June 30. In the event of a runoff, that election will likely be held in September. Gov. Abbott said that all counties within the district will continue to be under the state disaster declaration related to Hurricane Harvey.

"Hurricane relief efforts depend heavily on action at the federal level, which can only occur if Texans residing in disaster zones have full and effective representation in Congress. I remain committed to ensuring that the 27th Congressional District is fully represented as the recovery process continues,” said Gov. Abbott.

Any candidate that wants to be included on the special election ballot must file their applications with the Secretary of State no later than 5:00 p.m. on April 27.

The 27th Congressional District of Texas consists of all or parts of Aransas, Bastrop, Caldwell, Calhoun, Gonzales, Jackson, Lavaca, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria and Wharton counties.