NEW HANOVER COUNTY, N.C. -- Seats for the primary election on the coast have been announced, including New Hanover County Board of Education.

  • Julia Boseman wins New Hanover County commissioner Democratic primary
  • Hans Miller wins Onslow County sheriff
  • Alan Cutler wins Pender County sheriff

Chairman Edward Higgins lost his seat while Bruce Shell, Janice Cavenaugh and Don Hayes moved on.

Newcomer Bill Rivenbark took the top Republican spot.

For the county commissioner race, Democrat Julia Boseman won the primary against James Middleton and Rob Zapple with 40.66 of the vote.

In Onslow County, Hans Miller held onto his job as sheriff with 70.94 percent of the vote.

In Pender County where Sheriff Carson Smith is retiring, Alan Cutler earned 50.07 percent of the vote against six other candidates.

Stay with Spectrum News for the latest coverage from this race and all primary races. Click here for race results.

Get the latest news, sports and weather delivered straight to your inbox. Click here to sign up for email and text alerts.