Punahou’s Payton Jim On achieved a rare boys singles three-peat and Moanalua’s Ashley Kurizaki won a breakthrough girls title for her school in Saturday’s Island Insurance/HHSAA state tennis championships at Central Oahu Regional Park.

Punahou continued its overall domination in the sport as it swept the team titles. The Buffanblu girls program won their 20th straight going back to 2003, with the last four overseen by Jason Oliver, while the boys won their third in a row under Ikaika Jobe.

Punahou has 51 of the 65 all-time boys titles and 48 of the 65 girls titles.

[Note: See below for team championship photos.]

Jim On, the No. 2 seed, defeated top-seeded teammate Brandon Ramos, 6-3, 2-6, 6-3 for his third straight state singles title, while the second-seeded Kurizaki bested top-seeded Elise Wong of Punahou, 6-3, 6-4.

The Santa Clara-bound Jim On became the third boys player to win three singles titles. Punahou’s Kawika Lam (2013-15) and Punahou’s Bill Bartlett (1975-77) were the others. He was denied a chance to become the first Hawaii player with a career grand slam due to the COVID-19 pandemic wiping out the state tournament his freshman year of 2021.

Kurizaki became the first singles winner from Moanalua, boys or girls. She was the first champ from an OIA school since Alyssa Tobita won three in a row for Mililani from 2011 to 2013.

Punahou swept the doubles titles. Top-seeded Jariahlyn Rhoades and Logan Tom won the girls, 6-4, 6-3 over third-seeded Maya Eastburg and Mia Tom. Top-seeded Tanner Ige and Alexander Doane took the boys, 1-6, 6-3, 6-3 over second-seeded Spencer Yamamoto and Glen Ngo of Iolani.

Ige won his third straight doubles title after teaming with Tsubasa Okada the last two years.

In the team standings, Iolani finished second and Waiakea third on the boys side. Waiakea and Iolani flipped as second and third on the girls side.

Payton Jim On, middle, hoisted the koa HHSAA trophy on behalf of the Punahou boys tennis team. (Photo courtesy of Parish808 Photography/Parish Kaleiwahea)
The Punahou Buffanblu hoisted their 20th straight HHSAA girls team title. (Photo courtesy of Parish808 Photography/Parish Kaleiwahea)

Brian McInnis covers the state's sports scene for Spectrum News Hawaii. He can be reached at brian.mcinnis@charter.com.