County governments are taking a varied approach to reducing the taxes motorists pay while buying gas amid high prices throughout much of the state. 

Fewer than half of New York's 62 counties have capped their sales tax on gasoline in the weeks after New York state suspended 16 cents of its per gallon gas taxes, according to the New York State Association of Counties. 

The partial suspension of the gas tax statewide took effect on June 1 and lasts until the end of the year. Soon after the state budget in April approved the suspension, lawmakers urged county leaders to act as well. 

Still, gas remains a costly expense for New Yorkers. New Yorkers are paying more than $5 a gallon on average, according to AAA. 

All told, 24 county governments have capped their sales taxes on gas for differing time periods, while Seneca County has had its sales tax on gas capped at $2 since 2005. 

The shortest caps are in effect for Allegany and Westchester counties, which are capping their sales taxes at $3 per gallon for three months. Broome, Chautauqua, Jefferson, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego and Suffolk counties are capping their sales tax for gas at $3 for the next six months ending Dec. 1. 

Cattaraugus, Nassau and Livingston counties have set a sales tax cap when gas hits $3, which runs from June 1 until the end of the year. 

A six-month cap on sales taxes starting at $2 a gallon has been in effect since June 1 for Dutchess, Monroe, Ulster, Wayne, Delaware, Saratoga and Putnam counties. 

The longest sales tax caps will be set at nine months in three counties — Erie, Rockland and Schenectady. 

Every county so far has timed its cap to take effect on June 1, the post-Memorial start of the summer travel season.