The NFIB this week is awarding 13 state lawmakers with its Guardians of Small Business designation amid stiff headwinds for small business owners in New York and around the country due to the coronavirus pandemic. 

The award was given to six members of the Senate and seven Assembly members in recognition of their voting record, all Republicans. 

“COVID-19 and the resulting economic shutdowns have pushed many small businesses to the brink, threatening livelihoods, job creation, and the fabric of local economies,” said Greg Biryla, NFIB’s NY State Director. “The legislators recognized as 2020 Guardians of Small Business have gone above and beyond to support small, independent businesses before the pandemic and amidst the unprecedented challenges brought forth by COVID-19.”

Lawmakers and Gov. Andrew Cuomo will be facing a budget next year that includes a multi-billion gap created by a lack of tax revenue as a result of the pandemic. Cuomo is seeking billions of dollars in aid from the federal government to offset those losses. 

But talk next year will also likely focus on rebuilding an economy stressed by the ongoing crisis. The state's unemployment rate dipped below 10 percent for the first time since the spring, and the recovery in New York is expected to be a drawn-out process.

“Rebuilding our economy will take hard work and smart policy,” Biryla said. “To ensure our state’s recovery begins on Main Street, not just Wall Street, small businesses will need more champions in Albany like those recognized today.”

New York State Senate

George Amedore – 46th Senate District

George Borrello – 57th Senate District 

Patrick Gallivan – 59th Senate District

Tom O’Mara – 58th Senate District

Rob Ortt – 62nd Senate District

Sue Serino – 41st Senate District

New York State Assembly

Will Barclay – 120th Assembly District

Kevin Byrne – 94th Assembly District

Michael Fitzpatrick – 8th Assembly District

Andy Goodell – 150th Assembly District

Robin Schimminger – 140th Assembly District

Colin Schmitt – 99th Assembly District

Mark Walczyk – 116th Assembly District