TEXAS – It’s been announced that 31 more Texas counties have been added to the federal major disaster declaration. That’s in addition to the 77 counties approved late last week.

What that means is residents of those counties – homeowners, business owners and renters – can now apply for disaster relief with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has requested the Biden administration to declare all 254 counties in the state major disasters. The newly added counties are:

Angelina, Aransas, Bastrop, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Brazoria, Brazos, Brown, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Collin, Comal, Comanche, Cooke, Coryell, Dallas, Denton, DeWitt, Ellis, Falls, Fort Bend, Galveston, Gillespie, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hood, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Kaufman, Kendall, Lavaca, Liberty, Madison, Matagorda, Maverick, McLennan, Montague, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Nueces, Orange, Palo Pinto, Panola, Parker, Polk, Rockwall, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Scurry, Shelby, Smith, Stephens, Tarrant, Travis, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wharton, Wichita, Williamson, Wilson, and Wise.

Related Stories

Keep in mind that if you have insurance you must first file a claim with your insurer. FEMA will not duplicate benefits for losses covered by insurance.

It’s recommended you thoroughly document the damages your home or business sustained via photos and video.

The steps for applying for FEMA assistance are laid out here

When applying for assistance, you should have the following items ready:

  • A current phone number where you can be contacted
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying
  • Your Social Security number, if available
  • A general list of damage and losses
  • If insured, the insurance policy number, or the agent and company name


Facebook Twitter