SAN ANTONIO, Texas — The San Antonio Film Commission has announced the winners of its San Antonio Local Filmmaker Grant.

  • Filmmakers awarded $5K in funding
  • Grant awarded through application process
  • Winning projects represent a variety of genres

Directors Allison Herrera, Nathanial “Than” Niles, Justin Rodriguez, and Dave Sims were awarded $5,000.

The money will help the filmmakers with the production costs for their projects through 2019.

City officials say the goal of the grant is to support and stimulate the growth of the local filmmaking community.

“As we continue celebrating our city’s Tricentennial, the rest of Texas and the nation have been witness to San Antonio’s history, culture, and all that makes us a unique, world-class destination. And, filmmaking in our city has been a significant part of that storytelling,” said San Antonio Mayor Ron Nirenberg.

The competitive Local Filmmaker Grant is awarded through an application process.