TEXAS — The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has issued guidance to the 77 Texas counties designated for Individual Assistance.

After Texas Gov. Greg Abbott announced Saturday morning that President Joe Biden partially approved the state's request for a Major Disaster Declaration, people who live in the designated counties can now apply. FEMA in some instances will provide money for home repair or offer low-cost loans. 

The following counties were approved for assistance: 

Angelina, Aransas, Bastrop, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Brazoria, Brazos, Brown, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Collin, Comal, Comanche, Cooke, Coryell, Dallas, Denton, DeWitt, Ellis, Falls, Fort Bend, Galveston, Gillespie, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hood, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Kaufman, Kendall, Lavaca, Liberty, Madison, Matagorda, Maverick, McLennan, Montague, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Nueces, Orange, Palo Pinto, Panola, Parker, Polk, Rockwall, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Scurry, Shelby, Smith, Stephens, Tarrant, Travis, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wharton, Wichita, Williamson, Wilson, and Wise.

Saturday afternoon, FEMA Region 6 tweeted the more specific steps that need to be taken in order to apply successfully:

  1. Take photos of your damaged home and belongings.
  2. Make a list of damaged or lost items.
  3. Save yourself time. If you have insurance, you must file a claim with your insurance company. If you do not have insurance, skip to step 4.
  4. 3 easy ways to apply: online, through the FEMA app, or call (800-621-3362, or TTY: 800-242-7585)