HOUSTON -- Texas officials say a federal disaster declaration has been granted for six Southeast Texas counties that sustained severe flooding caused last month by the remnants of Tropical Storm Imelda.

Gov. Greg Abbott says the disaster declaration will help provide federal aid for residents in Chambers, Harris, Jefferson, Liberty, Montgomery, and Orange counties.

RELATED | Flash Flood Risk Persists in Texas as Imelda Moves Inland

The declaration means residents can apply for individual assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.  Imelda's remnants dumped more than 40 inches of rain in some spots in the days after the storm made landfall on September 17, 2019.

READ MORE | Schertz First Responders Help Rescue Nearly 60 People During Imelda Aftermath

The flooding was blamed for at least five deaths.

READ MORE | “It’s Bad”: Water Rescues Underway as Imelda Soaks East Texas

In Harris County, where Houston is located, more than 2,500 homes were flooded.