After being left off the initial declaration, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has amended its major disaster declaration regarding lakeshore flooding to now include Monroe County.

The declaration grants funding for repairs and provides protective measures for damages caused by Lake Ontario flooding last year.

Cayuga County was also added to the disaster declaration.

Governor Cuomo's office says he appealed the decision last month to initially exclude the counties.

Monroe County Executive Cheryl Dinolfo thanked Senator Chuck Schumer and Congressman Chris Collins for their assistance in securing the amendment.

"Monroe County worked diligently with our federal, state and local partners to ensure that our community was ultimately included in this vital declaration and today’s approval is welcome news," Dinolfo said.