Five upstate regions will enter the fourth phase of the reopening by the end of the week, Gov. Andrew Cuomo's office announced on Wednesday. 

Central New York, the Finger Lakes, the Mohawk Valley, the North Country, and the Southern Tier are "on track" for the fourth stage.

What You Need To Know

  • Five upstate New York regions will reopen for Phase 4 by the end of the week

  • Some businesses and attractions will be allowed to resume activities, including museums, film and TV production, and professional sports without fans

  • Other businesses like malls and movie theaters are not included

The businesses that will be allowed to operate will include museums, film and TV production, as well as professional sports without fans in attendance. Social distancing and mask-wearing will be required, as well as occupancy caps. 

Long Island is entering the third phase today. 

The fourth phase is yet to include other venues, like movie theaters and malls. 

Republican lawmakers criticized those openings being delayed for now as New York's infection rate remains at around 1 percent over the last several days. 

“Governor Cuomo’s continued shut down of our economy is hurting small businesses, sending more New Yorkers onto the unemployment lines, and is wrecking our economy," said Sen. Daphne Jordan, a Republican from the Capital Region. "As a former small business owner, I know it will take years to undo the economic damage this governor has done."

But Cuomo said those openings were delayed because the pandemic is not a "static situation." 

"The only way to get the economy back was to have a smart re-opening plan," he said.