Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio and Wisconsin were added to New York's 14-day quarantine list for out-of-state travelers, Governor Andrew Cuomo on Tuesday announced. 

The addition of those states brings the list to 22 states, requiring travelers to New York from those areas of the country to self-isolate for 14 days or face a fine. 

Cuomo on Monday announced an order meant to boost contact tracing for airport arrivals in New York, requiring the travelers to write down their contact information or face a $2,000 fine.

New York's infection rate over the last day jumped to 1.5 percent, an increase from the 1 percent or so of positive cases seen in the last several weeks. The results of 60,045 tests found 912 positive cases in the last day, Cuomo's office said. 

Cuomo said contact tracing efforts found 35 percent of the people who attended an Independence Day party in Suffolk County became infected with the virus. 

"New Yorkers showed incredible courage and resiliency throughout this pandemic, and nowhere is their work more evident than in the numbers we release every day, including in New York City, once a global hotspot," Cuomo said. "However, the success of our efforts depends on citizens' willingness to comply with state guidance, socially distance, wear masks and wash their hands, and rising cases around the country continue to threaten our progress, which is why four new states have been added to New York's travel advisory."

Hospitaliztions are now up above 800 patients once again to 820 cases. Five people died of the virus in the last 24 hours in New York.