Five more companies are now allowed to manufacture and dispense medical marijuana within New York state.

The Department of Health announced the new providers Tuesday, in an effort to improve patient access to dispensing facilities across the state.

They join five others that have been operating since the program's launch in January of 2016.

Among the additions, Fiorello Pharmaceuticals will manufacture in Schenectady County and have dispensing facilities in Saratoga, Monroe, New York and Nassau counties. Citiva Medical and Valley Agriceuticals will manufacture in Orange County. New York Canna will manufacture in Onondaga County, and PalliaTech NY will manufacture in Ulster County.

These additional organizations are due to a big increase in certified patients.

Right now, there are more than 25,000 patients and more than 1,100 registered practitioners participating in the medical marijuana program.

According to the DOH, there has been a 70 percent increase since March.

This is the latest in a string of changes to the state's medical marijuana program.

The DOH has also added chronic pain as a qualifying condition, allowed home delivery, and authorized nurse practitioners and physician assistants to prescribe medical marijuana.